The HH&C Stakes

On 22nd September 2023 Haynes Hanson & Clark celebrated a milestone with the 43rd consecutive running of the HH&C Stakes at Newbury Racecourse. Our sponsorship marks a feat that only three other current serving sponsors can lay claim to in British Racing. We are immensely proud of our long-standing commitment to this race and to British Horseracing.

HH&C took over the sponsorship in 1981, with past winners including Rainbow Quest in 1983 ridden by Pat Eddery, and Unfuwain in 1987 trained by Major Dick Hern. Local trainer, Marcus Tregoning is currently the most successful trainer in the race with five winners: Ethmaar (1999), Nayef (2000), Elshadi (2003), Taameer (2008) and Cavaleiro (2011).

Nick Clark has managed the sponsorship every year since the first running in 1981: “Having established Haynes Hanson and Clark in 1978, Denis Haynes and I set out to sponsor a race as a thank you to a lot of racing clients for their loyal support, and this race at Newbury was well timed for us. I recall our first year which was won by Super Sunrise, trained by Gavin Hunter. We had about 50 guests that year, mainly from the world of racing. Since then, numbers have grown to about 200 every year across a wide spectrum of clients, many of whom have never been racing – but now love a day at Newbury!”

Nick Clark and 2009 winning jockey, Frankie Dettori

Nick Clark and 2009 winning jockey, Frankie Dettori

Roll of Honour

2023 Bracken’s Laugh

2022 Stormbuster

2021 Zechariah

2020 Yibir

2019 Tritonic

2018 Raakib Alhawa

2017 White Mocha

2016 Temple Church

2015 Stormy Antarctic

2014 Snoano

2013 Pinzolo

2012 Wentworth

2011 Cavaleiro

2010 Moriarty

2009 Ameer

2008 Taameer

2007 Centennial

2006 Teslin

2005 Winged Cupid

2004 Merchant

2003 Elshadi

2002 Saturn

2001 Fight Your Corner

2000 Nayef

1999 Ethmaar

1998 Boatman

1997 Duck Row

1996 Kings Sound

1995 Micks Love

1994 Munwar

1993 King’s Theatre

1992 Pembroke

1991 Zinaad

1990 Prince Russanor

1989 Tanfith

1988 Star Shareef

1987 Unfuwain

1986 Thameen

1985 My Ton Ton

1984 Northern River

1983 Rainbow Quest

1982 Polished Silver

1981 Super Sunrise